Programme 2010

Seminar on the Internationalisation of Higher Education
Thursday 10 June 2010
University of Bath, 1East 2.4
10:00 – 16:00

10:00 – 10:30
Registration and coffee

10:30 – 11:00
Making sense of higher education ‘internationalisation’: An inquiry into how the economic and political pressures from mounting competition and global recession in 2009 affected actor’s sensemaking at one university in England

Ms Marilyn Brookes, M.C.Brookes@bath.ac.uk
ICHEM, School of Management, University of Bath

11:00 – 11:30
Interculturality in Language Education:  An untapped
resource for the Internationalisation of HE

Dr Trevor Grimshaw, T.Grimshaw@bath.ac.uk
Department of Education, University of Bath
&
Dr Irene Macías, I.Macias@bath.ac.uk
Department of European Studies and Modern Languages, University of Bath

11:30 – 12:00
Studying a foreign language in a foreign language: International student voices at the Foreign Languages Centre of the University of Bath

Ms Isabella Stefanutti, I.Stefanutti@bath.ac.uk
Department of European Studies and Modern Languages
Foreign Languages Centre, University of Bath

12:00 – 12:30
National Student Survey results of international students – what did it tell us? Provisional findings from the Teaching International Students Project
Dr Inna Pomorina, Inna.Pomorina@bristol.ac.uk
Institute for Learning and Research Technology, University of Bristol

12:30 – 13:15 Lunch

13:15 – 13:45
Universities in transition: from international to a global focus

Dr Felix Maringe, F.MARINGE@soton.ac.uk
School of Education, University of Southampton

13:45 – 14:15
An international approach to teaching and learning from a UK university management perspective
Dr Joanna Al-Youssef, J.B.Al-Youssef@bath.ac.uk
Foreign Languages Centre, University of Bath

14:15 – 14:45
Can I carry the can? Enhancing intercultural-communication in learning and teaching

Dr Irene Macías, I.Macias@bath.ac.uk
Department of European Studies and Modern Languages, University of Bath
&
Dr. Margarida Dolan, margarida.dolan@googlemail.com
Advisor to the Economics Network

15:00 – 16:00
Group discussion: questions raised and where to go from here

16:00 Closing

Advertisements

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: