Programme 2011

Seminar on the Internationalisation of Higher Education
Monday 11 July 2011
University of Nottingham, Jubilee Campus, Amenities Building, Room B18
10:00 – 16:00

10:00 – 10:30
Registration & welcome

10:30 – 11:00
Developing the internationalisation agenda in higher education: Does the Manager manage or the Actor act?
Miss Mari Thynne
M.C.Thynne@bath.ac.uk
ICHEM, School of Management, University of Bath, UK

11:00 – 11:30
Study Tours as an Internationalisation Strategy
Kimberley Howard
howardk2@macewan.ca
Grant MacEwan University, Alberta, Canada
&
Dr. Makarand Gulawani
gulawanim@macewan.ca
Grant MacEwan University, Alberta, Canada

11:30 – 12:15 
Case study group projects in an international academic institution: Enhancing team effectiveness
Ann Smith
Ann.Smith@nottingham.ac.uk
Centre for English Language Education, School of Education, University of Nottingham, UK
&
Dr Juliet Thondhlana
Juliet.Thondhlana@nottingham.ac.uk
Centre for English Language Education, School of Education, University of Nottingham, UK

12:15 – 13:15 Lunch break – Café Aspire, Level A, Amenities Building, Jubilee Campus

13:15 – 14:00 
Criticality for all: developing active reading skills in an international  foundation programme for Arts and Social Sciences
John Hall
john.hall@nottingham.ac.uk
Centre for English Language Education, School of Education, University of Nottingham, UK

14:00 -1430 
The development of intercultural capability through group work with pharmacy undergraduates
Stephanie Bridges
stephanie.bridges@nottingham.ac.uk
School of Pharmacy, Nottingham University, UK

14:30 – 15:15
Inter-cultural Learning? The experience of Chinese undergraduate students from the University of Nottingham, Ningbo, China and home students on a year 2 one-semester module, The Contemporary World since 1945 in the School of History, Nottingham
Dr Carole Mallia
carole.mallia@nottingham.ac.uk
School of History, University of Nottingham, UK
&
Dr Katie Haessly
khaessly@hotmail.com
School of History, University of Nottingham, UK

15: 15– 15:35 
Bridging the gap: the ‘new’ internationalisation
Dr Joanna Al-Youssef
joanna.alyoussef@yahoo.co.uk
Centre for English Language Education, School of Education, University of Nottingham, UK

15:35 – 16:00
Group discussion, questions raised and where to go from here

16:00 Closing

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: